Pathology

My Stash:

Kaplan Lecture Videos

This was very helpful for me. It helped me pace my reading and kept me from panicking.

Kaplan Lecture Notes

This is a good companion to the videos. The Pathology section of this set is definitely a favorite now. It is very concisely written without omitting important concepts.

Goljan’s Pathology Audio

Great during downtimes as Dr. Goljan wakes my mind up and encourages me to keep going again. This material, I feel, is my golden ticket to understanding Pathology better.

Robbins Review of Pathology

I am trying to do this after every set of topics I’ve clustered (by system). The questions are not too hard and not too easy either. So I found it to be a good stimulator and promoted recall for the concepts I’ve just read in my Kaplan lecture notes.

Underground Clinical Vignettes (UCV) Pathophysiology Volumes I-III

These are wonderful compilations of high yield clinical cases. The layout is brilliantly done in a lightweight binding. Very portable. The cases come with an atlas, equally light in weight and easy on the eyes. It sustains interest when I feel like throwing away the other books. They are written by the same authors as First Aid. They are also the case companion for Physiology. You’ll save more in the cost of purchasing these if you get them as a bundle where all Step 1 subjects are included plus the atlas.

First Aid For The USMLE Step 1 2007

MUST have. Period. Though make sure to correct the errors in them. Also, the 2007 version is now organized by system. While 2006 remains to be by subject. A matter of preference if you ask me.

USMLEWorld QBank

I learned late about practicing questions. I don’t know where I was. But I’m glad I’m doing it now. It stimulates recall and reasoning. The tutorials option is great! I haven’t quite done the 50-a-day advised by others but I’m working on it.

Kaplan QBook

This comes with the Kaplan set of notes. Helpful.

slump.jpg

The Catch:

I’ve read somewhere that USMLE takers should spend the most time in this subject as the examination is about 70% Pathophysiology. I did not buy that advice. But here is what is happening now–not because I was following that advice, but so far I have spent way more time in this part than I had planned. Just because it was a weak subject for me during medical school. Well, to be honest, the first two years of medical school were very weak for me. Enough said. So I’m making up for it subconsciously by consciously trying to evolve and understand my learning process. After all, medicine is superbly dynamic and we all have room to evolve with it.

Also, I don’t think I’ve ever been a linear learner. Thus, some might have issues on the choice of and number of my materials–either too much or too little. So in here, I think our personal styles of learning comes in. But so far, for this subject, it’s working. I’m learning. And that is our point.

Though I’ve really got to do more items in the QBank.

