Step 2 Clinical Knowledge, I Now Begin

I officially began my reading some days ago. Off to the local university library, coffee in tow.

In the days before, while I was drafting my schedule, I softly started answering the 60 questions on CVS of the First Aid Q & A for the USMLE Step 2 CK, followed by its corresponding chapter in the First Aid for the USMLE Step 2 CK. I then reviewed my answers to the questions and the book’s explanations on these answers, followed by a swift second, more sensible read on the corresponding chapter.

Answering the Q & A on the Dermatology (Chapter 2) section came next, then I proceeded to the discussions on it on First Aid. I continued this way towards the succeeding chapters. I stopped at Gastrointestinal System today both for the practice questions and the First Aid.

So basically, by far, my readings are going this way:

1. Answer Questions from First Aid Q & A for USMLE Step 2 CK, by system chapter (i.e. Chapter 1 was Cardiology). Then,

2. Read the corresponding Chapter 1 of the First Aid for USMLE Step 2 Clinical Knowledge which is CVS.

3. Review my previous answers and the explanations to these answers in the Q & A.

4. Re-read the same chapter on the First Aid.

5. Repeat the book shifting process for the next systems—Dermatology, Endocrinology, GI, etc.

I am scheduling Internal Medicine for my first blow. Thus, for now, I am skipping chapters in between on Epidemiology, Ethics, etc.

I will eventually share my Step 2 CK reading schedule and preferred reading lists and courses when I am through taking and passing the examinations. That way, it will make more sense.

I will, however, from time to time, continue to share my dailies with the readings. And after each book I finish, I’ll mark it up with you in here.

This is the part when I say, “Good night.”

About this entry